Orchestre national de jazz (de France) @ L'OFF Festival de Jazz de Montréal 2020
EX MACHINA by Steve Lehman and Frédéric Maurin

Orchestre national de jazz (de France)

Friday, October 7, 2022

Created by the American composer and saxophonist Steve Lehman and Frédéric Maurin, in close collaboration with Ircam, Ex Machina explores new musical directions by developing real-time interactions between the soloists and the machine within a large jazz ensemble. These two musicians share a number of aesthetic issues and ambitions that have led them to take similar paths in their respective ensembles.

Ex Machina is the result of work with Ircam’s Representations musicales team, directed by Gérard Assayag, and integrates devices created from the DYCI2 environment by Jérôme Nika into the compositional process and into the soloists’ improvisations in real time, the computer becoming, in turn, a generator of electronic orchestrations for the composers and a partner in improvisation for the musicians.

Delegated production: Orchestre National de Jazz. Coproduction: Ircam-Centre Pompidou. With the support of the European Research Council in the framework of the ERC REACH project conducted at Ircam-STMS, the Centre national de la musique and the Sacem.

Steve Lehman - Compositions, alto sax
Frédéric Maurin - Compositions, direction
Fanny Ménégoz - Flute, alto flute, piccolo
Catherine Delaunay - Clarinet, basset horn
Steve Lehman - Alto saxophone
Julien Soro - Tenor & soprano saxophones, clarinet
Fabien Debellefontaine - Baritone saxophone, clarinet, flute
Jonathan Finlayson - Trumpet
Fabien Norbert - Trumpet
Daniel Zimmermann - Trombone
Christiane Bopp - Trombone
Fanny Meteier - Tuba
Chris Dingman - Vibraphone
Stéphan Caracci - Marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel
Enzo Carniel - Piano
Sarah Murcia - Double bass
Rafaël koerner - Drums

Venue

Friday, October 7, 2022 - 8:00pm
  • Presale: $28
Share on social networks:

Orchestre national de jazz (de France) @ L'OFF Festival de Jazz de Montréal 2020
EX MACHINA par Steve Lehman et Frédéric Maurin

Orchestre national de jazz (de France)

vendredi 7 octobre 2022

Conçu par les compositeur et saxophoniste américain Steve Lehman et Frédéric Maurin, en étroite collaboration avec l’Ircam, Ex Machina explore des directions musicales inédites, en développant les interactions en temps réels entre les solistes et la machine au sein d’un grand ensemble de jazz. Ces deux musiciens partagent, en effet, nombre de problématiques esthétiques et d’ambitions qui les ont amenés à emprunter des cheminements comparables dans leurs ensembles respectifs.

Fruit d’un travail avec l’équipe Représentations musicales de l’Ircam dirigée par Gérard Assayag, Ex Machina intègre des dispositifs créés à partir de l’environnement DYCI2 par Jérôme Nika dans le processus de composition et dans les improvisations des solistes en temps réel, l’ordinateur devenant, tour à tour, un générateur d’orchestrations électroniques pour les compositeurs et un partenaire d’improvisation pour les musiciennes et musiciens.

Production déléguée : Orchestre National de Jazz. Coproduction : Ircam-Centre Pompidou. Avec le soutien du Conseil Européen de la Recherche dans le cadre du projet ERC REACH mené à l’Ircam-STMS, du Centre national de la musique et de la Sacem.

Steve Lehman - Compositions, saxophone alto
Frédéric Maurin - Compositions, direction
Fanny Ménégoz - Flûte, flûte alto, piccolo
Catherine Delaunay - Clarinette, cor de basset
Steve Lehman - Saxophone alto
Julien Soro - Saxophones ténor et soprano, clarinette
Fabien Debellefontaine - Saxophone baryton, clarinette, flûte
Jonathan Finlayson - Trompette
Fabien Norbert - Trompette
Daniel Zimmermann - Trombone
Christiane Bopp - Trombone
Fanny Meteier - Tuba
Chris Dingman - Vibraphone
Stéphan Caracci - Marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel
Enzo Carniel - Piano
Sarah Murcia - Contrebasse
Rafaël koerner - Batterie

En salle

vendredi 7 octobre 2022 - 20:00
  • Prévente : 28$
Partagez sur les réseaux sociaux :